FCPS
Emergency
Blackboard
Keep in Touch
Giving

Rounded Rectangle Edges
Home > Research & Academics > Science & Technology

Science Courses

Technology Courses

Research Labs

tjStar

 

Science & Technologypicture of IBET students on a field trip, taking samples from a lake

Each student will complete four years of laboratory science beginning with Biology (integrated with English as well as Design and Technology) followed by ChemistryPhysics, and Geosystems. Each science course has substantial laboratory experiences. Science electives assist students in preparing for their senior research projects and include advanced placement courses in biology, chemistry, physics and an array of other courses described in the TJHSST Online Course Guide.

Freshmen enroll in the Design and Technology course integrated with Biology and English (IBET). This required course is designed to help each student explore and acquire basic skills needed for later experience in research laboratory courses courses.

During the sophomore and junior years, students are expected to prepare for senior research through coursework in science, technology, and computer science electives.

All seniors are expected to complete a major science or engineering research project, either by working in one of the science and technology research laboratories, or by working in a commercial, government or university research lab or technical facility through our mentorship program.

Some exciting SciTech projects have been the International Space Station conference and the TJCubeSat.

 

Faculty

Clint Behling

picture not available
CJBehling@fcps.edu

Dave Bell

picture of David Bell, microelectronics teacher
DBell@fcps.edu

Mary Susan Burnett

picture of Mary Susan Burnett
MSBurnett@fcps.edu

Sandra Chhabra

picture of Sandra Chhabra
SKChhabra@fcps.edu

Andrea Cobb

picture not available
ADCobb@fcps.edu

Rob Culbertson

picture of Rob Culbertson
RHCulbertson@fcps.edu

Douglas Cullen

Picture of Douglas Cullen
DACullen@fcps.edu

Sonia Del Cerro

picture of Sonia Del Cerro, Biology teacher
SDelCerro@fcps.edu

Charles delaCuesta

picture of Charles delaCuesta, robotics teacher
CMDelaCuesta@fcps.edu

John Dell

picture of John Dell
JCDell@fcps.edu

Duncan Forbes

picture of Duncan Forbes, physics teacher
DForbes@fcps.edu

Ria Galanos

picture of Ria Galanos
RGalanos@fcps.edu

Monica Geiger

picture of Monica Geiger
MGGeiger@fcps.edu

Mark Hannum
Division Manager
picture of Mark Hannum
MSHannum@fcps.edu

Lee Ann Hennig
Research Lab Coordinatorpicture of Lee Ann Hennig, planetarium and astronomy teacher
LAHennig@fcps.edu

Aubrie Holman

picture of Aubrie Holman, biology teacher
ASHolman@fcps.edu

Jennifer James

picture not available
JJames1@fcps.edu

Ashley Jones

picture not available
ARJones@fcps.edu

Darcie Jones

picture not available
djones3@fcps.edu

Hadan Kauffman

picture not available
HEKauffman@fcps.edu


Brian Kennedy

picture not available
BJKennedy@fcps.edu

Paul Kosek

picture of Paul Kosek
PCKosek@fcps.edu

Fred Lampazzi

picture of Fred Lampazzi
ALampazzi@fcps.edu

Thomas Larson

picture of Thom Larson
TGLarson@fcps.edu

Laura Locklear

Picture of Laura Locklear
LLLocklear@fcps.edu

Xuan Luo

picture of Xuan Luo
XLuo@fcps.edu

Susan Luxenberg

picture of Susan Luxengerg
SWLuxenberg@fcps.edu

Duy Nguyen

picture not available
DVNguyen@fcps.edu

Tinhvan Phan

picture not available
tphan@fcps.edu

Michael Piccione

picture of Mike Piccione, lab technology teacher
MSPiccione@fcps.edu

Vicky Plescow

picture of Vicky Plescow
VJPlescow@fcps.edu

Jennifer Rosenblum

picture not available
JFRosenblum@fcps.edu

Stephen Scholla

Picture of Stephen Scholla
SRScholla@fcps.edu

Jared Seyler

picture of Jared Seyler
JCSeyler@fcps.edu

Adam Smith

picture of Adam Smith, physics teacher
ACSmith1@fcps.edu

Shawn Stickler

Picture of Shawn Stickler
SMStickler@fcps.edu

Robin Taylor

picture of Robin Taylor, chemistry teacher
RBTaylor@fcps.edu

Ann Tipton

picture of Anne Tipton
AMTipton@fcps.edu

Shane Torbert

picture of Shane Torbert
SMTorbert@fcps.edu

John Woodwell

picture of John Woodwell
JCWoodwell@fcps.edu

Lisa Wu

picture of Lisa Wu, Oceanography and lab technology teacher
LLWu@fcps.edu

John Zacharias

picture not available
JBZacharias@fcps.edu

 


 

 

Rounded Rectangle Edges