FCPS
Emergency
Blackboard
Keep in Touch
Giving

Rounded Rectangle Edges
Home > Research & Academics > PE, Health, Driver's Ed

Physical Education, Health, Driver's Ed

"...exercise and recreation, which are as necessary as reading; I will rather say more necessary, because health is worth more..."
-Thomas Jefferson

The two-year physical education and health program emphasizes health and physical fitness, as well as individual and team sports. Family Life Education and classroom driver education are also included in the physical education program. The goals of the program are to equip students with skills contributing to lifelong fitness and to develop students' interests in sports and physical activity, which they may pursue as adults.

Courses

Below are the integrated courses offered through the PE department. See the Online Course Guide for specific course descriptions.

  • Health & PE 9
  • Sports Medicine
Faculty

Dorothy Diggs
Activities Administrative Assistant
picture of Dorothy Diggs
DADiggs@fcps.edu

David Gardziel
Assistant Director of Student Activities
picture of David Gardziel
DSGardziel@fcps.edu

Rusty Hodges
Director of Student Activities
picture of Rusty Hodges
BRHodges@fcps.edu

Jeff James

picture not available
JCJames@fcps.edu

Heather Murphy
Athletic Trainer
picture of Heather Murphy
HRMurphy@fcps.edu

Barry Potoker

picture not available
BNPotoker@fcps.edu

Bill Rechin

picture not available
WMRechin@fcps.edu

Heidi Smith

picture not available
HESmith@fcps.edu

Melissa Stile
Department Chair
picture not available
MMStile@fcps.edu

 

Rounded Rectangle Edges